Put the Scissors Down! Get a Tangle Teezer!

The Tangle TeezerTangle…Tangles!..Tangled!!! The single thing I loathe about natural hair. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my hair, but when it gets tangled, we fight. I get upset, frustrated, and I cut it. Sometimes a little, many times alot. Sure I desire to have long hair, but when my typical detangling methods fail me, I turn to the scissors. Is this the right response? Probably not..it has certainly cost me alot of length seeing that I’ve been natural for almost 8 years! Yikes!  So let me share with you my final instance of doing an unnecessary “Big Chop” and how it could have been avoided.

It was the summer after my junior year. A year before I had colored and straightened my hair. I decided to grow the color out. Till this day, I am still not 100% sure which might have caused my hair more damage, the color or the heat. But anyway, I noticed that my hair was tangling more than usual. My hair loves to tangle. I detangled with water, leave-in conditioner, olive oil, and denman brush which all got the job done for the most part but still, my hair would tangle. The process took so long, I just hated to do it.  So I decided to just cut my hair, alot of it! I wanted a new color and I knew if I cut, I’d be tangle free.  Length wasn’t a concern, so I cut off almost 3 inches. I used a semi permanent color to make my hair more  auburn and I loved it! I could practically(I said practically) run my fingers through my hair without it encountering a tangle. A few days after my cut, I discovered the Tangle Teezer!!! Was I upset that this discovery was made after I cut my hair? A bit. But you live and you learn and I’m so glad I found it. This styling tool is one of the best I have EVER used! It gently removes tangles in half the time it would usually take me.  It’s my main detangling tool now. I love it! I have seen some negative reviews on it, but I was willing to take a chance. And I’m glad I did. I have been using it for over a year and have experienced no problems with it. Here is a list of the benefits I have experienced:

  • My detangling sessions take half the time(when compared to finger detangling and using the Denman brush)
  • There is ALOT less hair left in the brush when I’m done detangling…more hair on my head!
  • Since the bristles are flexible, you don’t have to worry about it pulling and stretching your strands

So if you are getting frustrated with your tangles, don’t reach for the scissors yet! Give the Tangle Teezer a try. Be patient, be gentle, and be ready for great results!

Here’s a link to my video! http://youtu.be/9vSgzPL664o

Leave a Reply

